Light therapy tips for better sleep

The products here..

The Lumie forum is for chat, discussion, support and advice on all aspects of light therapy and how it can help. To join in you'll need to register.

We do not monitor this forum every day. If you want to reach Lumie please see the Contact us page.

Post reply Start new thread
Very sad
joined 14 Jan 2010
3 posts

send a pm

Posted by Very sad, 10:31 14 January 2010

Why are they not listed here as being certified?

http://www.sad.org.uk/recommended.php
BWAD Squirrel
BWAD Squirrel
joined 24 Jul 2005
360 posts

send a pm

Posted by BWAD Squirrel, 22:23 14 January 2010

That site is affiliated with another SAD light retailer; and suprise, surprise, they recommend only all of the products which they retail.

Besides certified medical products are all about health and safety aspects like not posing electrical hazards and whether they are made of materials which can be cleaned easily for infection control purposes - nothing actually relating to providing effective SAD treatment.

I'll think you'll find Lumie's products are also certified medical devices, but their competitor doesn't want to advertise that fact.
Very sad
joined 14 Jan 2010
3 posts

send a pm

Posted by Very sad, 15:03 15 January 2010

Manufacturers who wish to be included in this list must contact us providing evidence of medical research, EU certification and other requirements. Initial contact can be made via our CONTACT US form.

They don't sell anything from their site nor do they provide links to the products. As SAD is accepted by doctors as something that can need treatment I'm sure there are ones that are good and those that are useless.
BWAD Squirrel
BWAD Squirrel
joined 24 Jul 2005
360 posts

send a pm

Posted by BWAD Squirrel, 18:21 15 January 2010

Become a free member, and see what happens next.

The site is just a marketing front end for Internet Fusion Ltd pretending to be a non-commercial, advisory oginisation to either get potential customers' contact details, or refer potential customers via the only clickable manufacturer link to the consortium of retailers which use their marketing and hosting services.

Besides virtually all of the products listed have never been used in registered clinical trials. Those that have were only used in small scale, and very questionable trials.

SAD.org.uk are not a registered charity such as the SAD Association: www.sada.org.uk.

SAD.org.uk is a domain owned by the company Internet Fusion Ltd.
Very sad
joined 14 Jan 2010
3 posts

send a pm

Posted by Very sad, 01:56 16 January 2010

Well I had this email back from them today..

"We would be more than happy to recommend Lumie products if they were to contact us and provide evidence of EU conformity. We understand Lumie products to be of the highest quality and very effective but they have not contacted us for their products to be added.

The recommendations are there to try keep people away from cheap, non-effective SAD Lights that are spoiling the reputation of quality manufacturers.

Kind regards

SAD.org.uk"
BWAD Squirrel
BWAD Squirrel
joined 24 Jul 2005
360 posts

send a pm

Posted by BWAD Squirrel, 10:19 16 January 2010

Only Just thought to check the SADA website http://www.sada.org.uk/about-SADA.html which contains the following:

"Important Notice

Please note that SADA is in no way linked to or affiliated with www.sad.org.uk - SADA is the UK’s only registered charity dedicated to SAD.

www.sad.org.uk is owned by a company called Internet Fusion, who also own a profit making website www.sad-lighting.co.uk which sells light boxes for those affected by SAD.

The similarity of website addresses between SADA, the charity, and www.sad.org.uk, which has commercial links, remains a regrettable source of confusion for the public.

Any light therapy products or treatments for SAD which SADA recommends are in no way influenced by commercial considerations."


By your actions here I am begining to suspect that you may have commercial linke to Internet Fusion yourself Very sad. If you simply looked around Lumie's website you would have already seen that they state that their products comply with the European Medical Devices Directive and more:

http://www.lumie.com/about/quality

Lumie's claims are just as valid as those for the products listed on sad.org.uk, since both only state the compliance and don't provide any evidence for proof - such as electronic copies of the certifications.


BWAD Squirrel
BWAD Squirrel
joined 24 Jul 2005
360 posts

send a pm

Posted by BWAD Squirrel, 10:20 16 January 2010

I have nothing against other light therapy device manufacturers and retailers; I just don't like them posing as helpful non-commercial organisations, especially when they lie about their products being medically proven.
admin
admin
joined 17 Oct 2002
232 posts

send a pm

Posted by admin, 09:16 20 January 2010

The main thing about Medical Device certification is that it can only be granted against individual products that have sound scientific research to back them up. When we design a new product we can only (legitimately) claim it's, for example, a treatment for SAD, if we can supply clinical evidence to support it. There are some companies who claim their lights will treat SAD but if they are not Medical Devices then you really have no guarantee that the light is bright enough, of the right kind etc. So always look for that when you're buying a light. All Lumie products are :)

admin
Elettaria
joined 15 Aug 2009
23 posts

send a pm

Posted by Elettaria, 20:00 27 January 2010

Light therapy manufacturers are madly competitive, sadly. I've seen other websites posing as bastions of scientific research which seem fine until they start unfairly criticising the competition (e.g. the myth that blue lightboxes are dangerous) and you notice that they are selling a small range of products. The best unbiased site for learning about light therapy (and darkness therapy) is www.psycheducation.org, though it's in the US so doesn't discuss all of the UK manufacturers.

I don't find it that difficult to tell whether a product is decent or not, the websites generally show that up. For instance, Lumie has a well-written website with oodles of research linked to it, Philips is a well-respected brand, and so on. Read Amazon reviews: if a product is mainstream enough it'll be on there and there'll be plenty of people discussing it. I was curious about some cheap dawn simulators I'd seen on eBay, and the Amazon reviews all said they were ghastly, whereas the quality products got good reviews.

Post a reply

Please note, this forum is for issues relating to SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) and light therapy.

The site is not monitored every day. Offensive posts, including those that blatantly promote products or services, will be removed but should you find something you dont like, please let us know.

To include working links in your post, use [url] at the start and [/url] at the end e.g. Have a look at [url]http://www.lumie.com[/url] for light therapy info

You can edit your message up to 15 minutes after posting.

Please send me an email when someone contributes to this discussion

Please note: submitting a comment will invite you to log in or register for free. Your comment will only display if you log in or register.

Forum terms and conditions.

Contact Us telephone 01954 780500